Who can undertake the course?

  • Must be at least 21 years old and under 70
  • Hold a full, current, clean driving license
  • Have passed their car driving test two years previously
  • Hold a category D1 entitlement on their driving licence (may not always be necessary)
  • Be able to undertake a simple eyesight check

What are the Benefits?

MiDAS brings a wide range of benefits including:
Enhanced passenger safety and improved passenger comfort
Potential savings in insurance and running costs
A single recognisable certificate to ensure high standards of driving
Nationally recognised standard
Community Transport Association appointed training officers

What does the course consist of?

Module One – Standard Certificate (Compulsory)

Training in the skills required to drive a minibus
A thorough knowledge of the legal responsibilities of a minibus driver and duty of care
Department for Transport codes of practice in the s
afe carriage of passengers
Good practice in passenger comfort
Health and Safety at work for Drivers
Manoeuvring of vehicles
Defensive Driving techniques

At the end of this session, candidates sit a written test paper, consisting of 20 questions, the answers to which will be contained in the training session, and in the minibus drivers handbook provided to each candidate.
Candidates must answer a minimum of 18 questions correctly, before they proceed to the driving assessment, and may only re-sit the examination once.

The Driving Assessment

There is also a 
90-minute on-the-road driving assessment to ascertain practical driving skills. The Trainer/Assessor will identify issues that need to be addressed and encourage the delegate to improve their driving skills. This includes:

  • A demonstration drive to show the standard required
  • The opportunity to familiarise yourself with the vehicle
  • An assessment of your driving skill and competence

Module Two – Accessible Certificate (Optional)

This module is for those carrying wheelchair users

Safe use of ramps and tail lifts
Wheelchair and passenger restraint equipment
Department for Transport codes of practice on 
the safe carriage of passengers in wheelchairs
Good practice on passenger assistance
Information on disability, carrying children and professional etiquette

At the end of this session, candidates sit a further written exam paper, consisting of ten questions, of which eight must be answered correctly.

Drivers must not, under any circumstances, carry disabled passengers, or operate any accessible equipment in vehicles, unless they have completed this training module.

MiDAS Certificate

On successful completion of the training and driving assessment, drivers are presented with a nationally recognised MiDAS certificate. Drivers are also issued with a photo-ID card. A MiDAS certificate is valid for four years.

MiDAS Driver Awareness Assessment & Training Scheme

MiDAS is the Minibus Driver Awareness Scheme, organised by the Community Transport Association U.K. (CTA) which promotes a nationally recognised standard for the assessment and training of minibus drivers.

It is a membership-based scheme that is designed to enhance minibus driving standards and promote the safer operation of minibuses.

Midas is fast becoming the industry standard for passenger transport drivers. Whilst it is not yet a mandatory requirement, MiDAS is an award winning nationally recognised assessment and training qualification.

Who is it aimed at?

MiDAS is applicable to any organisation operating or using minibuses. Member organisations range from small voluntary organisations operating one vehicle, to local authorities operating large fleets of minibuses as well as schools, colleges and universities.

What do drivers get out of this?

Drivers who successfully complete the MiDAS assessment and training programme will receive a nationally recognised certificate valid for four years.

(T) 0161 613 2222

(M) 07540 783979